Design, comfort, flexibility: No detail has been spared in the creation of lively, stunning spaces.
The Train’s interior appointments embrace elements in the passing landscape, leaving the scenery centre stage to play upon the intimate ambience in the railcars.
Design and Ambience
To heighten passenger pleasure and create a distinctive atmosphere, convoy railcars have undergone a complete makeover.
Refurbished and redesigned by the teams at Morelli Inc., each railcar has been completely restored and transformed by the professionals at C.R.O.I., in the Saguenay. No detail has been spared to the manner in which comfort and aesthetics intermesh on board.
Réalisations Inc. has devised an environment where throughout the rail cruise, user-friendly technology reinforces the passenger experience with multimedia clips.
A Train with a Contemporary Signature
A minimalist design, timeless decor, the predominance of whites, a purity of lines and the use of materials that reflect organic mediums create a truly contemporary signature.
Generous fenestration ushers passengers into immediate symbiosis with the scenery. From the moment they board, they enter into a decor that is anything but that of a conventional train. Interior spaces are simply stunning.
A Lively Decor
As the trip unfurls, nature offers itself in spectacle and outdoor elements modulate the passenger experience within.
Impacted by the ever changing scenery, by the evolution of day into night and the passing seasons, the convoy’s eight railcars gently transform themselves, assuming specific configurations, audiotechnical features and even textures, as requested by corporate and group clienteles.
Rolling Stock Configuration
- Two 1800-hp RS-18 locomotives;
- Two railcars each equipped with a Caterpillar generator, baggage stowage area and additional cold storage for the kitchens;
- Eight entirely refurbished Pullman Standard railcars with individual kitchen facilities:
- Six railcars accommodating 62 passengers;
- Two 60-passenger cab cars, also adapted for persons with reduced mobility (these railcars will be integrated into the convoy in winter 2012);
- Overall capacity: 492 passengers.
The touring train convoy comprises eight railcars restored and refurbished to the highest standards of quality and safety. Generous fenestration favours direct contact with the landscape unfurling before the passengers’ eyes.
The amplitude of interior spaces is stunning. Eleven-foot ceilings (3.4 m) upheld by solid steel beams bearing railway design accents offer a purity of line, strength and character to the railcars’ open-concept, loft-style architecture.
Interior appointments and furnishings offer flexibility and comfort, and create the perfect environment for relaxation, entertainment and sharing the pleasures a fine meal.
The eight railcars each boast an individual fully equipped kitchen, ensuring ease and functionality to its wait staff in the preparation of the meals served on board.
Regular RailcarsThe six regular railcars offer a maximum seating capacity of 52 passengers each, with two restrooms per car.
While slightly removed from the food preparation area, restrooms are strategically positioned in the vestibule for easy access within every half-railcar.
CabcarsA cabcar derives its name from space at one of its extremities reserved for a driving cab and basic equipment that enables a convoy arriving at destination to pull out in reverse, without requiring a turntable.
These two cabcars offer seating for a maximum of 60 passengers each, with adapted areas and restrooms for passengers with reduced mobility.
- Each generator car has two Caterpillar C18 ACERT engines;
- Each railcar measures 85 feet long;
- Ceilings soar to a height of 11 feet.
It all started on August 10 1889, when a Québec City/Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré rail corridor was opened. Property of Québec Railway, this 'electric' line - longtime known as the Good Sainte-Anne Line - was often packed with the faithful travelling to and from pilgrimages at the Basilica.
In 1904, businessman and politician Sir Rodolphe Forget dreamt of a rail line travelling along the St. Lawrence River shoreline, all the way to Pointe-au-Pic where good year, bad year, hundreds of wealthy American vacationers went to enjoy the much celebrated Manoir Richelieu. Work commenced in 1909, and ended the first of July 1919, date when the first train entered the La Malbaie railway station.
Along the coastline between river and mountains, the Québec City-La Malbaie Railway Line was quickly considered the most impressive in Canada, with its unparalleled views, twin tunnels and nine hundred bridges and culverts.
In 1945, with thirty-three trains per day, a record was set on the line with over 2,500,000 passengers riding the rails.
In 1952, the line was purchased by Canadian National, and passenger transportation continued until 1959, when the automobile and the development of roadways combined to force an interruption of service.
1984 was a long awaited date, marking the return of a destination train connecting Québec City to La Malbaie. Known as Le Tortillard, this train's life was short-lived due to administrative problems. Between 1995 and 1996 service resumed briefly, when CN sold the entire line to the Québec Railway Corporation.
Since, the Québec City-La Malbaie corridor has only been used for the shipment of freight.
In April 2009, Groupe Le Massif acquired the line and immediately set into motion major line rehabilitation work totalling $18,416 million dollars. Objective: Putting a Québec City/La Malbaie touring train into service by Fall 2011, paired with a Baie-Saint-Paul/Petite-Rivière-Saint-François rail shuttle by Spring 2012.
Starting September 2011, it's time to ride the rails again!
Building the railroad (Collection: Serge Gauthier)
First Mogul 2-6-0 locomotive in Pointe-au-Pic. Built in 1911 by the Montreal Locomotive Works, it was later conveyed to destination by steamboat.
Photo of La Malbaie Railway Station taken August 10 1956, with its 20,000 gallon water tower, pumping station, twin hangars and turntable (Photo: Roger Cook).
Les Éboulements Railway Station, still in operation on Agust 11 1968. (Photo: Roger Boisvert)